Charter Mark at the Royal United Hospital Bath

ContactDr Chris Dyer, Consultant Geriatrician / Clinical Lead, Royal United Hospital Bath NHS Trust
AddressRoyal United Hospital, Avon, Bath, Somerset BA1 3NG

What is being done?

Each ward is being given the opportunity to apply for the Charter Mark, with three levels available: gold, silver and bronze. The standards cover four main areas of care: respecting and caring for people with dementia, the ward environment, meeting nutritional needs and suitability of staffing. Within each of these areas there are then further markers of ‘excellent care’. These include ensuring that care is person-centred and that feedback from patients and their carers show a high level of satisfaction. To be awarded the gold standard Charter Mark, wards must hit the highest level in each of the main areas, following an inspection.

What is new and different?

If successful and care standards are optimised then National Audit Office analysis would suggest that the Charter Mark initiative could save many hundreds of thousands of pounds.

What difference this seems to be making

The high standards are set for each adult ward to ultimately provide the very best care possible for patients with dementia and ensure their stay in our hospital is as stress-free as possible.

Plans for taking the project forward

Other Trusts could use and adapt the Charter Mark. They are welcome to request copies from the University Hospitals Bristol.

Download a presentation about the Royal United Hospital Bath Dementia Charter