International Dementia Excellence Awards

The International Dementia Excellence Awards are designed to recognise organisations and individuals who have worked to improve the quality of life of people with dementia. The awards celebrate the important work being undertaken to support people with dementia internationally and are a celebration of innovation and good practice. They are organised and awarded by the Dementia Services Development Centre (DSDC) at the University of Stirling.

The DSDC is delighted that the 2010 awards are being supported by a number of partner organisations. La Fondation Médéric Alzheimer is granting two of the awards, which will include a travel grant and bursary to attend the DSDC’s international conference in London in October 2010, where the awards will be presented. The Royal College of Nursing, NHS Kensington and Chelsea and NatWest are also award sponsors.

Where and when
The awards will be presented as part of ‘Coming of Age’, the DSDC’s 4th International Conference, in London in October 2010. The award ceremony will take place at the conference dinner on 20 October. The conference is aimed at all those who support people with dementia, including doctors, nurses, social workers, allied health professionals, service commissioners, inspectors, planners/architects, paramedics, housing organisations, the police, faith leaders, voluntary and private sector staff and people with dementia. For more information about the conference please visit

Nominations are invited which reflect both small and large-scale activities that have made a difference to the lives of people with dementia. The awards are international and a wide range of individuals and organisations are encouraged to enter. Please note that the eligibility criteria vary for each award. Further details can be found in the conditions of entry section.

Apply online via the DSDC website

Nominations for the following categories are now being invited:

1. Pleasure of Eating – granted by La Fondation Médéric Alzheimer
This award recognises work that has enhanced the quality and experience of meal times and their associated activities for people with dementia. Nominations must demonstrate that the environment, ambience and experience of meal times has been enhanced for the person with dementia. The award will focus on the pleasure and experience associated with this important part of our daily lives.

2. Good Nights – granted by La Fondation Médéric Alzheimer
This award recognises measures that have improved the quality of the night-time experience for people with dementia or their carers. It will focus on work that has created choices for people with dementia and/or their carers to support periods of rest and engagement during the night. Examples may include helping the person settle to sleep, along with providing choices and support for them while they are awake. Community, housing, care home or hospital settings will be considered for this award.

3. Nurse of the Year – sponsored by the Royal College of Nursing
This award will be given to a nurse who has demonstrated innovation in practice, along with a high standard of care in their work with people with dementia and/or their carers. This may be in the context of individual support or changes in models of care. Their work can be based in the community, a care home or a hospital and can involve any client group affected by dementia.

4. Team of the Year – sponsored by NHS Kensington and Chelsea
The team of the year could come from any service that supports people with dementia. Applicants for the team award must demonstrate that they have enhanced the quality of services received by people with dementia.

5. Unsung Hero – sponsored by NatWest
This award will be given to an individual who has gone the extra mile, who simply gets on with the job or whose personal commitment has always shone through. Although this person may feel that they have only been doing their job, to others they will have genuinely made a difference.

6. Dementia Design Innovation of the Year
This award will recognise a communal or private setting used by people with dementia that demonstrates dementia-friendly design. Nominations for this award can come from care homes, hospitals, housing services or day centres and may include gardens or other spaces that demonstrate positive environmental design.

7. Volunteer of the Year
This award recognises an individual who has made a considerable difference to the lives of people with dementia through giving freely of their time and commitment. Nominees could include volunteers in day services, the treasurer of a support committee or a fundraiser.