NHS Outcomes Framework 2014-15

The NHS Outcomes Framework 2014 to 2015 sets out the outcomes and corresponding indicators that will be used to hold NHS England to account for improvements in health outcomes, as part of the government’s Mandate to NHS England.

This version builds on the previous versions and contains measures to help the health and care system focus on measuring outcomes. It provides an update on the progress that has been made to develop existing indicators and describes how the NHS Outcomes Framework works in the wider health and care system.

The high level outcomes are:

  1. Preventing people from dying prematurely
  2. Enhancing quality of life for people with long-term conditions
  3. Helping people to recover from episodes of ill health or following injury
  4. Ensuring that people have a positive experience of care, and
  5. Treating and caring for people in a safe environment and protecting them from avoidable harm.


The diagram below provides an at a glance overview of the outcomes and corresponding indicators for each of the five domains in the framework.
The NHS Outcomes Framework 2014/15

The technical detail for the live indicators in the NHS Outcomes Framework for 2014 to 2015 are available on the Health and Social Care Information Centre website.

See also: