NHS Outcomes Framework 2015-16

The NHS Outcomes Framework 2015-16 sets out the outcomes and corresponding indicators that will be used to hold NHS England to account for improvements in health outcomes, as part of the government’s Mandate to NHS England.

This version builds on the previous versions and contains measures to help the health and care system focus on measuring outcomes. It provides an update on the progress that has been made to develop existing indicators and describes how the NHS Outcomes Framework works in the wider health and care system.

The high level outcomes are:

  1. Preventing people from dying prematurely
  2. Enhancing quality of life for people with long-term conditions
  3. Helping people to recover from episodes of ill health or following injury
  4. Ensuring that people have a positive experience of care, and
  5. Treating and caring for people in a safe environment and protecting them from avoidable harm.

The latest framework includes a limited number of changes to the NHS Outcomes Framework that were informed by a review and a period of stakeholder consultation to see how the NHS Outcomes Framework could be improved.


Data for the indicators of the NHS Outcomes Framework, as well as further technical detail, is contained on the Health and Social Care Information Centre indicator website.

The diagram below provides an at a glance overview of the outcomes and corresponding indicators for each of the five domains in the framework.

NHS Outcomes Framework 2015 to 16

See also: